Paradise

When she was just a girl
She expected the world
But it flew away from her reach
So she ran away in her sleep
and dreamed of
Para-para-paradise [x3]
Every time she closed her eyes
Oh~ oh~ oh~ oh~ [x4]
In the night, the stormy night

This is a pretty cool song that I’ve been listening to as of late. It conveys some of my feelings (yes the lyrics are open to interpretation). For me, they are about the loss of innocence and the realization that the ideal world and life we yearn for is one that is not easy to attain.

A bit heavy for a blog like this, I know. But just because you’re a group fitness instructor, it doesn’t mean you become stripped of your ability to think and feel deeply about things. I think sometimes people can get caught up on being superficial and forming an outer, impenetrable shell, which I think is quite sad.

So this song, has led me to write this post. No, nothing overly dramatic or negative has occurred in my life. But just more of an observation. There is a lot of fat shaming going on as of late I’ve been hearing about coming from group fitness instructors (gfi). That’s quite disappointing to hear. Nothing is quite grating than to hear a gfi say ‘I’ll show you mine if you show me yours’ while teaching a class and referencing his/her abdomen thinking it’s going to be some sort of motivation for participants (not to mention creepy pasta).

You know, for someone who is not body confident, and is well aware that they have a protruding gut, such an invitation in a very public  space is going to really drive them off the rails as they get shamed potentially thrice (three times) over;

  1. It’s not nice to have an unwelcome advance
  2. They are reminded that they are fat
  3. They feel embarrassed about their body shape

I honestly believe the above scenario (which has happened, not to me though) is unprofessional and very much confidence destroying. But I know, and you know, that fat shaming can come in many different forms and ways. And it can be a bit of a minefield for people to navigate if they’ve never been ‘fat’ – and that’s absolutely ok, life shapes us all differently and we all have our own different struggles. Even though I’ve been fat (and some would say I still am) I don’t consider myself an expert in this area and I look forward to hearing what you all have to say about fat shaming.

For those who find yourselves being accused of fat shaming, and many well intentioned people fat shame inadvertently, is that when you are called out on it, don’t deny it. Instead, ask the person who is calling you out why what you are saying or doing is fat shaming. When they explain themselves, anything you are unclear on, get them to clarify. If it still doesn’t make sense, instead of engaging in an argument, just apologize and just let what they’ve said ‘simmer’ on the brain for a few days. It won’t always be apparent, you might even dismiss what they say initially. But just be open to remembering what they’ve said and reflect on it.

So this is what I have to say on this topic for now – I’ll probably write about it again soon, and also inclusive cuing/language.

Signing off for now 🙂 Write me please :)!

 

Leave a Reply

